

Country Views on Killer Robots

11 March 2020

The Campaign to Stop Killer Robots monitors the positions of countries on the call to ban fully autonomous weapons.

Who wants to ban killer robots?

Thirty countries are calling for a prohibition on fully autonomous weapons:

Alphabetical order

- 1. Algeria
- 2. Argentina
- 3. Austria
- 4. Bolivia
- 5. Brazil
- 6. Chile
- 7. China*
- 8. Colombia
- 9. Costa Rica
- 10. Cuba
- 11. Djibouti
- 12. Ecuador
- 13. Egypt
- 14. El Salvador
- 15. Ghana
- 16. Guatemala
- 17. Holy See
- 18. Iraq
- 19. Jordan
- 20. Mexico
- 21. Morocco
- 22. Namibia
- 23. Nicaragua
- 24. Pakistan
- 25. Panama
- 26. Peru
- 27. State of Palestine

- 28. Uganda
- 29. Venezuela
- 30. Zimbabwe

Chronological order

- 1. Pakistan on <u>30 May 2013</u>
- 2. Ecuador on 13 May 2014
- 3. Egypt on 13 May 2014
- 4. Holy See on 13 May 2014
- 5. Cuba on 16 May 2014
- 6. Ghana on 16 April 2015
- 7. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 8. State of Palestine on 13 November 2015
- 9. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015
- 10. Algeria on 11 April 2016
- 11. Costa Rica on 11 April 2016
- 12. Mexico on <u>13 April 2016</u>
- 13. Chile on <u>14 April 2016</u>
- 14. Nicaragua on 14 April 2016
- 15. Panama on 12 December 2016
- 16. Peru on 12 December 2016
- 17. Argentina on 12 December 2016
- 18. Venezuela on 13 December 2016
- 19. Guatemala on 13 December 2016
- 20. Brazil on 13 November 2017
- 21. Iraq on 13 November 2017
- 22. Uganda on 17 November 2017
- 23. Austria on 9 April 2018
- 24. China* on 13 April 2018
- 25. Djibouti on 13 April 2018
- 26. Colombia on 13 April 2018
- 27. El Salvador on 22 November 2018
- 28. Morocco on 22 November 2018
- 29. Jordan on 21 August 2019
- 30. Namibia on 24 October 2019

In April 2018, a group of African states recommended negotiating a legally binding instrument "at the earliest" and found that "fully autonomous weapons systems or LAWS that are not under human control should be banned."

A March 2018 working paper by the Non-Aligned Movement calls for a "legally binding international instrument stipulating prohibitions and regulations on lethal autonomous weapons

^{*} China <u>states that its call</u> is to ban the use of fully autonomous weapons, but not their development or production.

systems." NAM and its 125 member states have continued to call for a ban since 2018 and the campaign encourages national statements affirming support for this goal.

Who is opposed to creating a treaty on killer robots?

Less than ten states have expressed firm opposition to support negotiating a new treaty on fully autonomous weapons:

Australia
France
Israel
Republic of Korea
Russia
Turkey
United States
United Kingdom

Who has spoken on the topic of killer robots?

A total of 96 countries have publicly elaborated their views on lethal autonomous weapons systems in a multilateral forum since 2013: 44 states in 2013, eight in 2014, fifteen in 2015, fourteen in 2016, four in 2017, eight in 2018, and three in 2019.

Most commented via their statements to meetings of the Convention on Conventional Weapons in Geneva and annual sessions of the United Nations General Assembly in New York. Almost two-dozen states spoke during the first debate on killer robots at the Human Rights Council in Geneva in May 2013.

- 1. Algeria on 30 May 2013
- 2. Argentina on 30 May 2013
- 3. Australia on 14 November 2013
- 4. Austria on 30 May 2013
- 5. Bangladesh on 21 October 2016
- 6. Belarus on 14 November 2013
- 7. Belgium on 11 November 2013
- 8. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 9. Botswana on 27 October 2015
- 10. Brazil on 30 May 2013
- 11. Bulgaria on 23 October 2014
- 12. Burkina Faso on 23 October 2017
- 13. Cambodia on 13 November 2017
- 14. Cameroon on 12 December 2016
- 15. Canada on 11 November 2013
- 16. Chile on 13 April 2015
- 17. China on 30 May 2013

- 18. Colombia on 17 April 2015
- 19. Costa Rica on 29 October 2013
- 20. Croatia on 15 November 2013
- 21. Cuba on 30 May 2013
- 22. Czech Republic on 13 May 2014
- 23. Denmark on 13 April 2015
- 24. Djibouti on 13 April 2018
- 25. Ecuador on 29 October 2013
- 26. Egypt on 30 May 2013
- 27. El Salvador on 29 October 2018
- 28. Estonia on 31 August 2016
- 29. Finland on 22 October 2014
- 30. France on 30 May 2013
- 31. Germany on 30 May 2013
- 32. Ghana on 14 November 2013
- 33. Greece on 29 October 2013
- 34. Guatemala on 16 May 2014
- 35. Holy See on 14 November 2013
- 36. Honduras on 13 April 2018
- 37. Hungary on 7 October 2016
- 38. India on 30 October 2013
- 39. Indonesia on 30 May 2013
- 40. Iran on 30 May 2013
- 41. Iraq on 13 November 2015
- 42. Ireland on 29 October 2013
- 43. Israel on 15 November 2013
- 44. Italy on 14 November 2013
- 45. Japan on 29 October 2013
- 46. Jordan on 31 August 2016
- 47. Kazakhstan on 13 November 2015
- 48. Kuwait on 26 October 2015
- 49. Latvia on 21 October 2016
- 50. Lebanon on 26 October 2015
- 51. Libya on 14 October 2019
- 52. Liechtenstein on 15 October 2018
- 53. Lithuania on 14 November 2013
- 54. Luxembourg on 30 April 2018
- 55. Madagascar on 14 November 2013
- 56. Mali on 13 May 2014
- 57. Mexico on 30 May 2013
- 58. Moldova, Rep. on 12 December 2016
- 59. Montenegro on 12 December 2016
- 60. Morocco on 30 May 2013
- 61. Myanmar on 10 October 2017
- 62. Nepal on 11 October 2018
- 63. Netherlands on 29 October 2013

- 64. New Zealand on 30 October 2013
- 65. Nicaragua on 13 November 2015
- 66. North Macedonia in March 2019
- 67. Norway on 13 May 2014
- 68. Pakistan on 30 May 2013
- 69. Palestine on 13 November 2014
- 70. Panama on 12 December 2016
- 71. Peru on 12 December 2016
- 72. Philippines on 14 April 2016
- 73. Poland on 13 April 2015
- 74. Portugal on 14 October 2014
- 75. Romania on 26 October 2015
- 76. Russia on 30 May 2013
- 77. San Marino, 16 October 2019
- 78. Sierra Leone on 30 May 2013
- 79. Slovakia on 12 December 2016
- 80. Slovenia on 12 December 2016
- 81. South Africa on 30 October 2013
- 82. South Korea on 14 November 2013
- 83. Spain on 11 November 2013
- 84. Sri Lanka on 13 April 2015
- 85. Sweden on 30 May 2013
- 86. Switzerland on 30 May 2013
- 87. Thailand on 29 October 2018
- 88. Tunisia on 17 October 2018
- 89. Turkey on 14 November 2013
- 90. Uganda on 17 November 2017
- 91. Ukraine on 14 November 2013
- 92. United Kingdom on 30 May 2013
- 93. United States on 30 May 2013
- 94. Venezuela on 13 December 2016
- 95. Zambia on 17 April 2015
- 96. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015